Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, subject to decisions made and directions set by General Meetings and Staff Rep Assemblies, oversees the business of VEAES, and exercises the powers of the local on behalf of the membership.

Members are elected by the VEAES Annual General Meeting to serve on the Executive Committee for a one-year term. Minutes of all Executive Committee meetings are distributed to all worksites via Staff Reps.

2023-2024 VEAES Executive Committee

President: Jody Polukoshko     jody@veaes.ca
Vice-President: Marjorie Dumont     marjorie@veaes.ca
Vice-President/Grievance Officer: Vanessa Lefebvre    vanessa@veaes.ca
Vice-President: Darren Tereposky     darren@veaes.ca
Vice-President: Karine Ng       karine@veaes.ca

Vice-President: (part-time): Eric Proulx    eric@veaes.ca
Secretary Treasurer: Glen Hansman    glen@veaes.ca

Local Reps to the BCTF
Chloë McKnight    chloe@veaes.ca
Natasha Burditt   natasha@veaes.ca
Samuel Couture   samuel@veaes.ca
Local Rep (AE)   

Members at Large
Japleen Gill     japleen@veaes.ca
Marcus Zheng     marcus@veaes.ca
Deborah Tin Tun     deborah@veaes.ca
Bernadette MiltonDesignated position for a member who identifies as having First Nations, Inuit, or Metis ancestrybernadette@veaes.ca
Ramatoulaye Balde – Designated position for a member who identifies as a person of colour 

Standing Committee Chairpersons

Aboriginal Ed Committee: Jennifer Sebastian    jennifer@veaes.ca
Communications Committee: Vacant
Health & Safety Committee: Danielle Durant    danielle@veaes.ca
Professional Issues Committee: Alexander Graham   alexander@veaes.ca
Social Justice & Solidarity Committee: Elaine Ong: elaine@veaes.ca     Madalene Wong: madalene@veaes.ca     Maria Teresa Foster: maria@veaes.ca
Teachers on Call Committee: Kevin McPherson   kevin@veaes.ca
WLC/Bargaining Committee: Greg Canning   greg@veaes.ca

Adult Ed Sub-Local
President: Rob McGowan   rob@veaes.ca

Area Counsellors: Leslie MacKenzie
Gifted Education: Vacant
LATA: Vacant
Psychologists: Larissa Jackson
Speech Language Pathologists: Erin Boswell
Teacher-Librarians: Bryan Doolan
Technology: Vacant
Music: Vacant